Subscribe to Newsletter

Finalists for first CATO Awards revealed

The CATO Awards make their debut at the 2019 NTIA

CATO - The Council of Australian Tour Operators - has announced the finalists for the first-ever CATO Awards at this year's National Travel Industry Awards (NTIA).


"The CATO Awards are a great opportunity for the land-supply side of the travel industry—tour operators, wholesalers and tourism offices—to recognise talented travel consultants across specific market segments”, said Brett Jardine, Managing Director of CATO.


“Whilst the inaugural awards are focused on Group Touring, Adventure, Ski and FIT, our goal is to raise awareness of all travel intermediaries that are engaged with CATO, all of whom are proudly ATAS Accredited and supply the Australian travel industry”, added Jardine.


Brett Jardine


The winners will be named in the CATO Awards stream at the National Travel Industry Awards Gala Dinner in Sydney on 20 July 2019, recognising and rewarding consumer-facing travel consultants in four categories: 


Adventure Travel

• Crandon Keddie - Cathie Rice Travel WA
• Jos Bauk - Peregrine Travel Centre WA
• Kelly Pinkerton - Student Flights Shellharbour NSW
• Leanne Flannagan Smith - Back Track Adventures QLD
• Rebecca Hausler - Temora Travel NSW


Group Touring

• Dayana Brooke - The Sustainable Traveller NSW
• Hannah Campbell - Global Journeys QLD
• Jo Gostin - FBI Travel VIC
• Lisa Campany - Flight Centre Edgecliff NSW
• Michelle Barker - Jayes Travel NSW



• Jenny Tucker - Travel Partners NSW
• Kelly West - Noller & Turner Travel Associates QLD



• Ash Chawla - Global Sports Travel and Tours QLD
• Kieran Mackenzie - Altitude Travel Tea Gardens NSW
• Mathieu Cadart - Ucango Pelican Waters QLD
• Michelle Barker - Jayes Travel NSW


“The CATO Awards are a terrific initiative as they celebrate the people at the front line of selling travel", said AFTA Chief Executive, Jayson Westbury.


"The addition of the CATO Awards to the 2019 NTIA program is an outstanding demonstration of how the two organisations work so closely together. Everyone at AFTA looks forward to celebrating with each CATO Award winner at the 2019 NTIA Gala Dinner as we showcase the very best of the Australian travel industry at the event to be held in Sydney on July 20," added Westbury.


The inaugural CATO Awards are being sponsored by Globus, G-Adventures, Intrepid and The Travel Corporation, four high profile brands demonstrating the renewed collaborative focus of Australia's land-supply sector. 


Jardine, for one, is looking forward to the National Travel Industry Awards Gala Dinner and the inaugural CATO Awards. 


"This is the travel industry's night of nights, and we can’t waitto be an integral part of the event,” he said.


To learn more about the CATO Awards, please visit the link below:


Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk
Published: 23 May 2019

comments powered by Disqus