Subscribe to Newsletter

Visa announcement ‘amazing news’ for South Africa: SAT

South Africa Tourism welcomes visa waivers for NZ

South African Tourism (SA Tourism) has welcomed the news from the Department of Home Affairs that New Zealand and six other countries have been added to the visa waiver list for travel to South Africa.


Cape Town (Image Mark Harada)


Citizens of New Zealand, Ghana, Sao Tome and Principe, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, Qatar and Saudi Arabia will no longer require visas to visit South Africa. The waiver will take effect no later than the end of the South African financial year (ending 31 March 2020).  


The announcement was made by the Minister of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoalediduring the Department of Home Affairs Budget Vote speech in South Africa on 11 July.


“This is amazing news and could not have come at a better time for the tourism industry,” said SA Tourism Acting CEO, Sthembiso Dlamini.


“As we look to achieve our 5-in-5 goals which are to increase international tourist arrivals by 4 million and domestic holiday trips by 1 million, the visa waivers will go a long way to assisting the increase of tourist arrivals into South Africa.


“The visa waivers to countries in all of our key markets will ensure that we stimulate growth in the industry that is in line with the mandate issued to us by President Cyril Ramaphosa,” added Dlamini.


Further updates on time of implementation will be provided in due course.


Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk
Published: 12 July 2019

comments powered by Disqus