Subscribe to Newsletter

TWU confirms second round of strikes at Aust. airports

Action to occur just days before Christmas

The Transport Workers Union (TWU) has announced that Jetstar ground workers will strike again next Thursday (19 December) after the low cost carrier “continued to refuse to negotiate on workers’ modest demands”. 


Sydney Airport (Image Mark Harada)


The second round of industrial action follows a series of strikes across the country’s major airports this morning (Friday) and further work stoppages this evening. 


According to TWU, Jetstar has “rejected claims for more rest breaks, a guaranteed 12-hour break between shifts, guaranteed 30 hours a week and annual wage increases of 4%”.


“Again we apologise to the travelling public for the disruption and we want to emphasis that this is the only course that Jetstar has left workers to take,” TWU national secretary Michael Kaine said.


“Jetstar workers are on forced part-time hours and poverty wages. They took an 18-month pay freeze when the Qantas Group was in difficulties and they want the company to come to the table to discuss how it can lift standards. 


“Twice we have written to Jetstar this week asking them to discuss our demands and we have had no response on this.”


Alongside these demands, the TWU has urged Jetstar to appropriately respond to a notice by Safe Work NSW over a risk to workers of “serious injury”.


“Malfunctioning equipment and deliberate understaffing are putting workers at serious risk of injury and all the company can do is deny it,” Mr Kaine said. 


“We are demanding that Jetstar comply with all workplace, health and safety requirements and review its operations across the country to assess the risk to workers. 


“There is simply too much at stake here: when workers are at risk, so are passengers.”


The times for strikes on Thursday 19th December are:

Sydney: 10am-12pm; 5.30pm-6.30pm; and 6.30pm-7.30pm.

Melbourne: 9.30am-11.30am; 4pm-5pm; and 5pm-6pm

Brisbane: 6am-8am; 6pm-7pm; and 7pm-8pm.

Adelaide: 6am-8am; 6pm-7pm; and 7pm-8pm.

Cairns: 5.30am-7.30am; 1.30pm-2.30pm; and 2.30pm-3.30pm

Avalon: 8am-10am; 6.30pm-7.30pm, and 7.30pm-8.30pm.

Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk Click here to read the latest issue of traveltalk
Written by: Mark Harada
Published: 13 December 2019

comments powered by Disqus