Skip to main content

Finalists for the 2024 TAC Victorian Top Tourism Town Awards have been announced, with  17 towns across the state vying for the prestigious accolade. 

Hosted by the Victoria Tourism Industry Council (VTIC), the Awards showcase the regional  towns and centres offering exceptional and unique visitor experiences across Victoria. 

VTIC Chief Executive Felicia Mariani said the awards are an opportunity to recognise and  celebrate the most captivating destinations the state has to offer. 

“As Victorians continue their love affair with their own backyard, it’s wonderful that these  awards allow us to profile the amazing destinations and experiences that are on offer across  every corner of our beautiful state.” 

VTIC is pleased to continue its partnership with the Transport Accident Commission (TAC) in  2024 and acknowledges their support as the Naming Partner for these exciting awards. 

“The Awards showcase the value of tourism to our towns and communities and celebrate  the diversity of our regional destinations. We are thrilled to have the ongoing support of the  TAC in recognising the towns that are going above and beyond to create a great experience  for travellers who use our roads to experience all that Victoria offers,” Ms Mariani said.  

TAC CEO Tracey Slatter said sponsoring the awards provided an opportunity to promote  road safety and safe driving behaviours through Victoria’s tourism industry.  

“Travelling by car is a popular way to visit Victoria’s top-tourist destinations and that often  includes driving long hours; fatigue is a major concern on Victorian roads and it’s important  we educate all road users on how to avoid driving tired,” Ms Slatter said.  

“This important partnership encourages Victorian towns and communities to champion safe  travel on their roads by proactively communicating with visitors about the dangers of  fatigue and where they can take a pause from the road,” she said.  

The 17 Finalists now proceed to the consumer voting element of the awards, giving the  public a chance to vote for their favourite Victorian destinations. Voting opened on 3 June and will close at 5.00pm on Monday the 24th of June. 

Individuals who cast a vote for their favourite Victorian tourism towns will go into the draw  to win a Melbourne Getaway for two, kindly sponsored by Time Out and Sofitel Melbourne  on Collins.  

The prize includes two nights’ accommodation (in a Superior King room with breakfast) at  the luxurious Sofitel Melbourne On Collins; dining vouchers to some of Melbourne’s best  restaurants (Chin Chin and Yakimono); and two tickets to the LUME Melbourne and Artvo  Immersive Gallery.

“We’re calling on every Victorian to cast their vote and get behind their favourite holiday  spot in Victoria. This is your chance to show your gratitude for the memorable moments  that these destinations have created for you, your family and your friends,” Ms Mariani  said. 

To cast your vote for your favourite part of Victoria, visit the VTIC website – 

The 17 Victorian finalists are: 

Top Tourism Towns 

  • Ballarat 
  • Bendigo 
  • Echuca 
  • Mildura 
  • Shepparton 
  • Warrnambool 
  • Werribee 

Top Small Tourism Towns 

  • Daylesford 
  • Heathcote 
  • Koroit 
  • Maldon 
  • Sorrento 

Top Tiny Tourism Towns 

  • Arthurs Seat  
  • Dookie 
  • Koondrook 
  • Timboon 
  • Trawool 

VTIC thanks its 2024 Victorian Top Tourism Town Partners, the Transport Accident  Commission (TAC), the Department of Transport and Planning, GAWK, Storytowns, Time  Out, Tourism Australia and Victoria University. 

Winners will be announced at a special event on 25 July in Lancefield. The Victorian Gold  winners will go on to compete on the national stage in Canberra on 10 September for the  title of Australia’s Top Tourism Towns for 2024.