Skip to main content


The national finalists for the inaugural Excellence in Accessible Tourism award have been  announced ahead of the prestigious 2023 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards taking  place in Darwin, Northern Territory on Friday 15 March 2024.  

As the newest of 27 national awards categories, the Excellence in Accessible Tourism  award recognises a business that provides a tourism product, experience or service that  goes above and beyond to accommodate and cater for people with accessibility needs. 

Cocky Guides (NSW), Katherine Outback Experience (NT), Big4 Adventure Whitsunday  Resort (QLD), Adelaide Fringe (SA), Accessible Accommodation (VIC) and Off the Beaten  Track WA (WA) are the six national finalists vying for the coveted national Gold award. 

“This new award category highlights the importance and value of accessible tourism to  visitors and tourism businesses alike,” said Australian Tourism Industry Council (ATIC) Chief  Executive Officer Erin McLeod.  

“ATIC is proud to support Australian tourism businesses to implement more inclusive  business practices and make adjustments to accommodate visitors with accessibility  requirements, just as our six national finalists have demonstrated so well,” Ms McLeod  said. 

ATICs Accessible Tourism program assists tourism businesses to understand and  implement accessible tourism practices. The Accessible Tourism program is part of a suite  of ATIC programs supported by the Australian Government to assist small, medium, and  regional tourism businesses to enhance their quality, accessibility, and sustainability.  

“With the support of the Australian Government and our recently established national  partnership with Spinal Life Australia, we will continue to advocate for improvements in accessible tourism within Australia to see better inclusion for all visitors, both domestic  and international,” Ms McLeod said.  

Spinal Life Australia, a sponsor of the upcoming 2023 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards,  hopes that the new accessible tourism award will inspire more of the nation’s tourism  industry to continue making meaningful changes to welcome more visitors with accessibility needs.  

“We are thrilled to see tourism businesses recognised for demonstrating Excellence in  Accessible Tourism, and look forward to seeing more inclusive tourism products,  experiences and services become available across Australia in time for next year’s  Awards,” Spinal Life Australia CEO Mark Townend said. 

“The accessible tourism market is continuing to grow, so now is the time for tourism  businesses to make changes to improve their access and inclusion to reach more  potential customers.” 

The 2023 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards ceremony will take place on Friday 15 March 2024 in Darwin, Northern Territory. For information about the awards, go to  

State/Territory Tourism Awards – Excellence in Accessible Tourism Winners


  • Adelaide Fringe – GOLD 
  • Monarto Safari Park – SILVER 
  • BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park – BRONZE 


  • Cocky Guides – GOLD 
  • Katherine Outback Experience – GOLD 


  • Off the Beaten Track WA – GOLD 
  • Busselton Jetty – SILVER 
  • RAC Arena – BRONZE  


  • BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort – GOLD 
  • Hopo Gold Coast Ferry – SILVER 
  • Aquascene Magnetic Island – BRONZE 


Accessible Accommodation – GOLD

2023 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards – Excellence in Accessible Tourism Award  Finalists 

  • NSW – Cocky Guides 
  • NT – Katherine Outback Experience 
  • QLD – BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort 
  • SA – Adelaide Fringe  
  • VIC – Accessible Accommodation 
  • WA – Off the Beaten Track WA